Bipartisan Education Leaders Endorse Catharine Baker

Democrats, Republicans come together for Baker

(San Ramon, CA) – Bipartisan education leaders from throughout the entire community have endorsed Catharine Baker for re-election to the State Assembly.

“Catharine has been an active parent in local schools for years,” said Mark Miller, Pleasanton School District Board Member. “Catharine is an education leader. She has been fighting to stop child abuse in schools, fighting to make California universities more accessible for California students, and fight for reasonable tenure reform and ongoing teacher development. We need Catharine in the legislature.”

“Catharine is bipartisan.  She puts the education of our children first over party ideology or special interests," said Denise Jennison, San Ramon Valley Unified School District Board Member. “Catharine is leading the way for better schools, and is doing the right thing for our children.”

“I’m a lifelong Democrat, and I support Catharine Baker because she’s bipartisan and independent from the special interests that have too much interest in our schools,” said former Democratic majority leader of the California State Senate Gloria Romero. “Her focus on fighting child abuse in schools and in reforming teacher tenure is just what we need.”

Partial List of Education Leader Endorsements:

Dublin School District Board:

Board President Dan Cunningham

Board Trustee Greg Tomlinson

Livermore School District Board:

Board Clerk Chuck Rogge

Board Member Kate Runyon

Board Member Chris Wenzel

Board Member Anne White

Pleasanton School District Board:

Vice President Mark Miller

Contra Costa County Board of Education:

Board Vice President Christine Deane

Contra Costa Community College District Board of Trustees:

Board President Vicki Gordon

Board Vice President Greg Enholm

Board Secretary Tim Farley

Trustee John T. Nejedly

Acalanes Union School District:

Board Member Kathy Coppersmith

Lafayette School District:

Board President Jean Follmer

Board Member Suzy Pak

Moraga School District:

Superintendent Bruce Burns

San Ramon Valley Unified School District:

Board President Greg Marvel

Board Vice President Mark Jewett

Board Clerk Ken Mintz

Board Member Denise Jennison

Assemblywoman Catharine Baker represents Alamo, Danville, Dublin, Lafayette, Livermore, Moraga, Orinda, Pleasanton, San Ramon, and Walnut Creek. This is Assemblywoman Baker’s first term in office. In the Assembly, she’s been focused on improving K-12 education and access to UC schools for Californians, preventing BART strikes, making smarter infrastructure investments, and bringing more transparency and fiscal responsibility to government.